1. Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The author adduces that human beings should be responsible for the hazard species caused by their activities. This is the claim with which I completely do not concur. Among the countless rearing reasons, I will list the most conspicuous ones in the following paragraphs to verify my standpoint.

The most striking fact which should be considered is all human activities do not present the direct impact over the environment. In another word, each stir in the world possesses an insensible and indirect impact on the atmosphere, in which by consideration of the direct impact of mankind’s activities, those impacts will be overlooked. For instance, if the mankind solely considered the air pollution caused by the usage of fossil fuels and underestimate its impact on the global warming, they ignore the effect of heated air and its impact over the polar ice. In this scenario, this ignorance will cause to the increment of the sea levels and threaten of organisms which used to the dominant habitat.

Another equal crux fact which should be highlighted is the period required for the presentation of the side-effect caused by human activities. Indeed, the accumulation of small variations in the environment caused by human beings which in their implementation time seems unimportant fact and controllable by the ecosystem, over time gets a jeopardy role in the ecosystem. For instance, the discussed molten polar ice has not occurred over a night, it takes a prolonged duration to happen; therefore, since this period does not match with people life period, it is considered as an unimportant phenomenon. However, by the consideration of future life, it is a real hazard for the future generation.

Finally, the existence of cogent chain and interconnection between the organisms in the environment gives the importance to all species that are in danger independent of the men direct or indirect impact over them. This undeniable link is verified by the butterfly effect; according to this principle, the movement of a butterfly wing in the specific region can lead to the appearance of a storm in a far away space. Therefore, a minor variation in the ecosystem for the sake of mankind activities can end to butterfly effect on the land over the seas. In this position, the ignorance of side-effect of this stir can threaten the chain existed in the ecosystem and their organisms.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned facts explicitly depicts the crucial effect of human beings over the environment which should be controlled by themselves.