1. Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author claims that the indicator of teachers’ salaries should be the pupils’ performance in the lessons. This is the assertation with which I totally do not concur. Among the countless rearing reason, I will list the most conspicuous ones in the following paragraphs to verify my standpoint.

The first crucial reason which should be highlighted is students’ scholar proficiency is not merely depended on the teachers. Indeed, various factors such as the learning equipment of school, students’ intelligence level, or even the dominant atmosphere in the house possess an undeniable effect on the presented performance by the students. If from mentioned factors, the learning equipment of school is considered for further explanation; the biology lab can be a decent example to clarify the striking impact of this factor over the learning performance of students. For instance, if a high school is lacking the well- equipped biology laboratory, the students will not able to observe the onion cells and its cell divisions; in this scenario, all effort of teachers for a theoretical explanation of this phenomenon is a dead-ended affair. This example lucidly illustrates the importance of the other factors over the students presented performance which are beyond the teachers’ responsibility.

Another equal crux reason which should be bolded is the weakness of the benchmark used for evaluation of students’ performance. In general touchstone for the students’ academic proficiency is the examination system which owns a list of failures to present the exact status of the students’ knowledge level. The first failure which can be mentioned is its short period, it is obvious that the content of the entire semester cannot be held in an hour test; therefore, the presented performance in the test is only a small portion of the students’ understanding; and either their success nor their failure in the exam is not real representor of their real level. Another shortage of the examination system is its stressful atmosphere which completely manipulated the students’ performance. According to the noteworthy intelligence research conducted by the Psychology Department of the Tehran University, the elementary students’ stress on their test day in Tehran leads to thirty-five percent reduction of their ultimate performance in the test. Therefore, the shortage of testing system for covering the exact understanding of the students can also lead to failure in academic performance which is out of the teachers’ control.

Finally, the discussed contents in the various fields are not the same which shows it is not a fair decision to merely emphasize the students’ performance. In another word, the content of lesson such as art completely differs from mathematics. In this case, the effort presented by the mathematics teacher varies from the art teacher too. Furthermore, according to the content’s easiness level, the student’s performance is varied in these fields too. Therefore, it is not a wise idea to considered only the student academic performance to define the amount of income for each teacher.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons explicitly depict the consideration of only students’ performance for the determination of teachers’ salaries is not a fair and decent option.