In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As social intensively cover every aspects of people's life nowadays, previously unknown stories are no longer buried.it is therefore reasonable to think that our society cannot consider any living people as heroes because social media could directly uncover the nagative aspects of a person, leading to disillusion of believing that person as a hero. however, in my view it is still possible for modern societies to have heroes, especially seemingly ordinary people, through the power of social media to spread out information and make the unknown known.

Admittedly, social media is disinterested in preserving a person's positive figure for the public. Particularly, political leaders now are more easily criticized because of the unveiling of their personal life through social media. To take a supporting example, park Geunhye was the first female president not only in North Korea but also in Asia. She used to be the hero of korean girls who dreamed of contributing and making changed for their country. Her portrayal as a hero, however, was entirely destroyed after media reports revealed that her close friend, Choi, intervened too much on her decisions and even had access to national secrets. The power of media is able to expose all aspects of park's life, and thereby leads to the breakdown of park as a hero.

In spite of the fact that media could expose disadvantages of existing heroes, media is more capable of exhibiting great stories of the ordinary and making them heroes. news can show virtues of the common people regarding their bravery and sacrifice and thereby shaping new definitions of heroes for the modern society. For instance, in the disaster of sinking of Sewol ferry, a crew member named Kang sacrifised herself to try to save as many as passengers as possible. More than thousands of people petitioned to bury her in the national cemetery, and the korean people will remember her as a hero forever. In this case, social media helped the story of a common person become known by everyone in the country, and the society therefore got a chance to know her and regard her as a hero.

In addition to the possibility that living and ordinary people could become heroes through social media, great people who passed away could also be regarded as heroes in the society. A great many scientists, such as Hawking, made unprecedented and indispensable contributions to human development and scientific progress. How could we ignore them and not respect them as heroes?

In short, it is true that media nowadays can expose the negative aspects of a public leader who would no longer be regarded as heroes. Nevertheless, social media could make more ordinary people, who were previously unknown, become famous for their virtues and thus become new heroes of the modern society. Bedsides, people who made tremendous contributions to the society but passed away are also regarded as heroes.