Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The claim that the only way for any enterprise to achieve success is through revitalization by new leadership is not comprehensive and deliberate. First, some of the underlying conditions or requirements that actually make the enterprise successful are neglected by the claim. Second, revitalization may not contribute to success, but could cause disturbance in the corrent system, thereby bringing in more problems. Third, the introduction of new leadership may not help revitalize the enterprise because new leaders may not be familiar with what would be the best policies for an enterprise.

Although there are successful cases where new leadership after a couple of years would bring new energy and policies that could solve problems, the assumptions and conditions required behind are ignored. it is not uncommon that new political leaders introduced innovative policies that improve the current situaitons. For example, Obama implemented social health care policies that benefited a great many poor American people. Novertheless, we cannot simply make the claim that new leaders would revitalize the existing situations because these political leaders have been close investigating existing policies and making effort to making improvement. In some companies, however, new leaders might not be very familiar with the operation of the their new enterprise and five years would be too short for them to get familiar and make suitable changes.

To add to the point above where new leaders of business companies might not be very familiar, the changed they bring into the company may high possibly cause disturbance in the company, leading to complains from colleagues or unstability in the company's finance.

The claim also mentions education. Take another supporting example of a department in UC Berkeley where revitalization did not lead to success. The department of chemistry has long been cut on research funding by the university. it struggled to main its budget until in 2016 it almost had to shut down the entire department due to lack of funding sources. The new dean in 2016 chose to change the policies so that professors could reach out more to outside resources, such as cooperation with companies in industry, in order to gain enough money for their research in the university. this new policy, however, did not turn out to be helpful as expected. professors could earn much more by projects with companies than doing their research, and therefore they largely shifted their focus from teaching courses and training students to become better researchers to looking for projects outside of the school. In this case, the "revitalization" did not lead to success in alleviating problems but instead caused new problems.