An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patient.Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat the medical condition.

With the availability of online tools which help diagnose illnesses and understand their details, the access to information of a doctor's record may seem like a basic right of an ailing patient. however, using this information to decide the doctor's competency to treat a patient can sometimes come in the way of patient's right to good treatment and be detrimental to the patient themselves.

doctors are trained proffessionals, who have acquired their knowledge through years of study and practice. Expecting a lay man, especially so an ailing patient, to understand the medical jargon and decide the competency of their doctors can cause many unnecessary problems both to the patient as well as to the doctor administering treatment.

A common man with no medical background would not be able to comprehend the finer details that come with the afflictions and and how they cause wide variations in treatments from one individual to the next. In case of critical ailments, especially those with low rate of survival, a doctor who has achieved a survival rate of 5% may be hailed as a genius in the medical profession but would offer little consolation to a patient on his death bed.

Further, access to a doctor's treatment records could cause anxiety, stress and dishearten a patient who does not possess the resources to receive treatment from a better doctor. An ailing patient may not be in the appropriate mental condition to make a suitable decision regarding his treatment.

Some may argue that patients have the right to know the competency of the doctor treating them and also about the exact details and odds of their recovery.access to a doctor's prior treatment records can however come in the way of patient doctor confidentiality of previous patients and have a deleterious effect on the trust of patients on doctors.

While access to the details of their illness, mode of treatment, odds of recovery and ability of the doctor seems to be an unquestionable right of every patient, various problems would invariably follow by letting a patient be a judge of their doctor's competence.