To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

With the race to develop, major cities are every nations pride. Riddled with cosmopolitan ideas, myriad of different ethnicities and the strife to better themselves, these cities sometimes lose touch with their origins. It is the smaller cities and rural areas that are palimpsest with the roots of the society give a more lucid idea of its characteristics. To truly understand the important characteristics of a society one must study not only the major cities but also the minor cities and rural areas.

Most people live in urban areas owing to availability of jobs and the living standards. But availability of jobs has also drawn many immigrants, creating an amalgam of ideas and cultures, thereby creating the society that exists today.However, understanding them would require a more thorough study than the surface picture offered by the modern cities.

While it is true that the important characteristics of a society are prevalent and can be observed even in major cities one must study its roots to truly understand them. The importance the Indian society attributes to education would only be understood if we were to go back to the ancient gurukulas, which, though extinct in modern cities, are extant in some rural areas.

Therefore, though major cities reflect the features of the present day society, studying them is not sufficient to understand characteristics of the society. To achieve a consummate understanding of the society and its characteristics, one must not neglect the importance of the minor cities and rural areas.