The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by the leader than any of his or her inherent skills and abilities

Democracy has enabled the people of a nation to choose their own leaders. This we might expect implies the fact that a nation's citizens elect their leaders depending on his or her inherent abilities. Yet throughout history we observe that the perceived greatness of political leaders is often associated with the various challenges they faced and the situations they overcame rather than their actual nature.

When we come across the name of Abraham Lincoln, a well loved and remembered president of the United States, we immediately associate it with the abolishment of slavery. Lincoln contribution towards the belief equal rights for all is unquestionable , yet this speaks little of his character and more of his response to an evil prevalent in the society.

Leaders are often remembered for how they changed history rather than who they were. Adolf Hitler for example, was a man of impeccable character. He was known to stay clear of alcohol and smoking, vices that hadn't spared of even some of the most loved leaders. Besides this, he was an eloquent speaker and very disciplined in his lifestyle. Yet despite his inherent character and abilities he isn't regarded in a positive light, owing to the blemish he has left on human history.

Some may argue that the way a leader deals with challenges may depend on their inherent abilities. It is true that challenges do bring out a leader's abilities, leaders are rarely remembered merely based on their educational qualifications, their eloquence in speech or any other abilities if they had not made a significant difference in the society in the face of the challenges.

A leader's perceived greatness has therefore, more to do with the challenges they faced and how they overcame these challenges than directly with their inherent abilities.