The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The worth of a people, their greatness, often comes from the recognition they receive from their contemporaries. Yet it is those that live after an them that see the whole picture and can be a consummate judge of an individual's greatness.

In Shakespeare's renowned literary work 'Julius Ceaser', Mark Antony said, ' The evil that men do lives after them.The good is oft interded with their bones.' Known for his ability to capture the true essence of human nature, Shakespeare rightly predicted that only those that come after the death of an individual can see the repercussions of individuals actions during their lifetime, judge evil from good, and decide that individual's worth.

The earliest contributors to science and discovery like Pythogoras, Euclid and Aristotle were looked down on during their time and yet today there is hardly a person that doesn't recognise their name or the worth of their contributions.

Adolf Hitler's meteoric rise to power was a result of the greatness his contemporeries believed he possessed. Only those that came after his downfall saw the barbarity in his actions, and the harm he had caused during his regime.

Great individuals are often ahead of their time, setting them apart from mediocrity.Their greatness is therefore often failed to be recognized by their contemporaries, and sometimes even looked down on. It is only those that live after them that can truly judge their greatness.