Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

A person's success is often associated with their competitiveness. While the drive to win plays an important role in individual success, in the government, industry or other fields where interaction and mutual understanding play a crucial role a highly competitive leader may perhaps fail to cooperate with others resulting in ultimate failure.

We live in a world where everyone cannot win every situation and therefore in order to be successful a leader must be able to cooperate with others.A cooperative leader in the government, industry or other fields will be able to maintain amicable relations and prevent unneccessary conflicts within their own groups or teams and with others.

It is only by cooperation that a leader will be able to maintain congenial relations within the team and outside thereby fostering a conducive atmosphere for growth and hence success.

Some may argue that a cooperative leader rather than a competitive one would not have the necessary drive to win and would hence be unsuccessful.Yet, if a highly competitive person were to lead in any field he or she would be unable to appreciate the views of others. Even in his own team his first objective will be to prove himself right and thus defeat the purpose of having a team and create a situation bearing close likeness to a dictatorial regime. Adolf Hitler, for example, was irrefutably a competitive leader who despite having seen success early in his career, met his bitter downfall owing to his unwillingness to cooperate.

Success in the government, industry, or other fields can be achieved by only cooperation, team effort and maintaining good relations. Therefore a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others to be successful.