The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author relates the sleep requirement of employees with the higher profit margins and growth of businesses. while it might be true that employees requiring less than 6 hours of sleep per night contribute towards properity of businesses the above argument is rife with holes and assumptions.

The study has been based on rating of only 300 Mentian advertising executives, while the result has been generalised for all businesses. However, profit margins and growth of a business depends on market demand, business plan and many other factors which vary not only one business to another, but also from one advertising firm to the next.

Additionally, only sleep hours of the employees are considered rather than the working hours. this could mean that the given firm is overworking their employees and enabling them to get less than 6 hours of sleep per night irrespective of their sleep requirements and thus achieving higher success rates. In this scenario, if a firm which values the welfare of its employees were to hire them they wouldn't achieve the same results.

Though it might be true that employees requiring less than 6 hours of sleep per night will be able to put in more work hours than an employee requiring an average of 8 hours of sleep, the prosperity of a company does not depend merely on the number of hours of work put in.

Hence, while the authors conclusion might be true, the argument does not justify the hiring of employees based on the hours of sleep they require to ensure the prosperity of a business. Detailed survey of number of work hours, the qualifications of employees, market demand and other factors which effect businesses could strengthen the argument and support the conclusion.