All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

The practice of studying in a foreign country for a semester or more, also known as Foreign Student Exchange program, has been in place for a long time. It is considered to be a life-altering experience and there are many advantages of this arrangement, for a college or university student.

Firstly, students going to a different country are exposed to an entirely different culture than what they are accustomed to. This exposure tends to make them more tolerant towards other cultures, religions and ways of life. The experience they gain helps to broaden their perspective on life itself. There is admittedly, a bit of culture shock, which may be due to a variety of factors ranging from different social norms to different cuisines. But that's the very thing the students get to overcome in staying abroad, which leads to an enhanced acceptance of the diversity of the world. The non-believers in this system also often question the purpose of sending students to foreign countries if the education in the home country is at par with that of the host country. The answer to that lies in the cardinal aim of such exchanges. The students are mainly sent to learn different cultures, to learn to adjust, more than to learn any subjects.

Because of what the students face in an unknown environment, most of the time, they find it easy to break out of their comfort zone; they learn to do things on their own- managing finances, learning a new language, conversing with the locals, travelling on their own and making new friends. All of this prepares the students for the upcoming challenges in life that come from living independently. They are better prepared when posed with any adverse situations.

On coming in contact with their peers from another country, students get firsthand knowledge of how different the education system in other parts of the world is. One particular advantage for college and university students is that they get to know how differently the profession they are studying is practiced in another country. They can take this knowledge to their home country and even help to improve the pedagogy. For instance, if one student finds Physics to be hard, but learns in his exchange program that there are many novel and fun ways to understand the difficult concepts of Physics; on going back to home, he can inform the teacher to employ the same ways to teach the subject.

Having said all of this, there are a few reasons that can be given against foreign education. One of them being that the student becomes homesick and is not able to adjust to new surroundings. But this tendency cannot be generalized. Also, to ensure that it does not happen, good organizations (public or private) that provide foreign student exchange programs, have a proper system to ensure that the foreign student gets all the support and care he needs from the host family. The organizations also conduct a background check on the host families prior to assigning any student. The CSIET (Council on Standards for International Educational Travel) in the USA has established a set of rules and guidelines, which need to be adhered to by such organizations.

Another factor may be financial. There are many students who find it difficult to enroll in a student exchange program, because of the sheer amount of money needed. The tuition fees and living expenses may be hard to bear for many. Health insurance is another essential cost that is to be borne by the students. Good news is that many organizations like Rotary, provide scholarships to students going abroad for study. Although they do not cover costs like health insurance, travel expenses or visa, they help lessen the burden. Students may also be able to find part-time jobs, depending on the country they are going to.

While it is clear that studying abroad for some time for college and university students is beneficial, at the same time, the problems mentioned here about this system can be mitigated to a great extent with increased government and private funding, and increased regulation. Thus, despite all and any odds, we cannot deny the benefits a student gets from studying for at least a semester in a foreign college or university.