Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Laws are the characteristic of a civilized society. They are formulated to properly administer a community, village, city or nation. It is supposed to be an individual's responsibility to obey laws in general. But often, there is not a clear distinction between just and unjust laws, which are the two terms used in the statement. I partially agree with the statement, that everyone has an obligation to obey laws that are right, but the second part of the statement requires some thought.

The laws, as they currently are in any country of the world, have been the result of a long history of development of the country. Some laws have been in place since olden times, while some laws are rather new. There are some laws that are clearly just, like the criminalization of dire offenses like murder and rape. There are still some laws that are the remnants of the orthodox history that we have lived. Criminalizing same-sex marriages is one example. Such laws are clearly unjust, for they do not give the right to privacy to some minor communities of society. Then there are laws about some very controversial subjects. As an example, some countries have legalized euthanasia, stating that it is an individual's right to die peacefully if he/she is in acute pain and has no will left to live. People may argue that it is not up to the law to decide about matters of life and death. Still others may choose to differ.

Moreover, the laws that should be placed within the above three categories of being a) just, b) unjust and c) just/unjust, may be different according to different people. After all, a person may decide that traffic laws are unjust and may choose to disobey them. Such a person will not only be a threat to his/her own safety, but also to the safety and well-being of others on road. Another person may decide not to obey the taxation laws and resist them by not paying his taxes. This will directly affect the government and the fellow taxpayers on a minute scale, exponentially getting more harmful if more people decide to join in. But on the other hand, there have been instances in history when resistance by people was righteous. The ''Satyagraha movement" by Mahatma Gandhi was one such example, in which he urged people of India to resist oppression by British rulers in a peaceful, persistent manner. This movement is said to be a major contributor in attaining India's independence, simply because people got to know that the British rule and their laws were unjust and cruel and needed to be fought in a tactful, calm manner. Thus, choosing which laws to disobey is a fuzzy area. A good sense of judgment of whether disobeying a law is morally right or wrong, therefore should be there in an individual.

Finally, the methods that one chooses to resist and disobey laws may be different. People may organize a candle march, sign online petitions, and in the extreme cases, even vandalize public property as a method of protest. If the mode of resistance requires violence, fatally harming other human beings, then the law is right to punish the defectors. If the resistance to supposedly unjust laws also seems unjust, then it is not right.

Thus, it is true that each person in a society should obey laws, but it is also at the same time not a bad thing to resist laws that seem against humanity, provided that the methods of protest do not harm other people in society. After all, laws may be above an individual, but they may never be above humanity.