In order for any work of art- for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song- to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Art is said to be the mirror of society. The movies, poems, books that are written and shown to the masses, come from a select few of them. The statement proposes that for an artwork to have value, it must be understandable. I partially agree with it, with some points of my own to make.

Art forms like movies and books may be made, keeping either common masses or a small target audience in mind. Also, they are made in different genres- Romance, Romantic Comedy, Horror, Science fiction, Thriller, etc. There may be different age groups in the mind of their makers. They may be written for the youth, the married, the old, and the single people in society. Different factors like these affect the process of creation. For any art to be a success there is one important factor- they must touch the heart of the audience. For example, movies like "Titanic", or "The Shawshank Redemption" are so successful because they tend to elicit strong emotions in people. On the other hand, a science fiction movie like "Interstellar" has also been immensely successful all around the world because it has been made with great content and impressive knowledge of science; therefore even if the subject of the movie- black holes, time travel- is very difficult to grasp for the common man, it keeps the viewer engaged with its excellent development. This is the reason why novels like "Adventures of Tom Sawyer" by Mark Twain and "The Man who was Thursday: A Nightmare" by G. K. Chesterton get so famous, despite being so different in content and understandability- the former about a naught little boy and his adventures, the latter a story involving the concepts of anarchy and surrealism.

Moreover, we also must know how we are determining merit- Is it the amount of revenues collected, or the awards a writer or a movie wins, or perhaps the impression the piece of art leaves on peoples' minds? To understand this, take as example, movies-there are some that go highly unappreciated, but collect massive revenue; some are highly praised by critics, but do poorly in the market. Nevertheless, both may be said to have merit, depending on one's point of view. Poems like nursery rhymes are very popular with children and taught to them all over the world. They are too simple and yet they leave a mark on our childhood brain. Then we read poems from writers like Robert Frost, which may be deep in meaning, but they still impress us. The reason is simple- both kinds of poems affect emotions- one, of a little child, and other, of a grown up and intelligent person.

To conclude, it can be said that while some art forms may be easy to understand, and some convoluted, whether they have merit or not depends on their content and their target audience where the meaning of merit is taken to be the emotional value of an artwork.