Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

I strongly agree with the statement that governments should make university education free for students who cannot pay for it, but have been admitted to a university. First and foremost, if a student has been admitted to a university, it means that the university deems him/her worthy of a higher education; it means that the student deserves it. In this scenario, if a student wants to study but does not have the means to pay for it, it should be borne by either the university or the government.

This is where the aspect, of whose financial responsibility it is, comes into play. The university may be a public or private one. If it is public, it means it gets its funds from the government and so if the university provides a deserving student free education, it eventually falls upon the government. On the other hand, if the university is a private one, to make university education free for some students, it would have to increase the resources it has, by increasing its tuition fees, which has to be paid by the students. But it does not seem fair for the other students, even if they can afford the increased fees. Thus, it is ultimately the government which should provide funds for free education in all public, as well as private universities.

Secondly, if university education is made accessible to all students, whether they are rich or poor, this would mean that more of the youth population of that country has a higher level of education and is better prepared as workforce, in different arenas like medicine, engineering and scientific research. It will ultimately prove to be a beneficial long-term investment, in that it will help boost the country's economy. Moreover, if university education is made free for deserving students, it will greatly help international students who may come from relatively less developed countries and find the university fees to be unaffordable. We can take Germany as an example here, which has made all public and private university education free for all students, who are German, EU or non-EU people. This has helped Germany become a much favored country to study in by students all over the world.

Also, to look at the issue from a moral perspective, it is an obligation for a nation to provide education to its children. Education is a basic human right. It should be made available to all.

Of course it is possible that a student who gets admitted in a university, drops out of college without completing studies due to any reasons, thereby wasting government money. In order for that not to happen, universities may apply stricter rules and regulations to only provide assistance to those students who are sincere about studies.

To conclude, it would suffice to say that governments should strive to provide free education to those who deserve it, as it is not only a moral duty, but also a key factor behind a nation’s progress.