Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

The statement here proposes that educational institutes should discourage students from studying in subjects they are not likely to succeed in. I do not agree with the statement at all. The first question we can ask here is how the institute can decide what is best for different students. Each student is different, one may be excellent in Science, other may be more inclined towards Commerce. There have been many people who have achieved incredible success in the very subjects they were supposed to be inadequate in. Thomas Edison was expelled from school with the label of being "addled", since he was not good at subjects like math and was not attentive in class. But when his mother home-schooled him, he went on to become one of the greatest inventors of his time.

Moreover, the decision to choose what to study should be of an individual, in which the school, college or university should not have a say. Even if the institute tries to decide that, how can it come up with a solution to decide for every student? There cannot be a generalized aptitude test that judges everybody's capabilities accurately. Devising such a test and conducting it for every batch of students, every year would not be very pragmatic. Of course, from a moral standpoint too, it is an individual's decision, and should not be based on somebody else's authority.

Then again, there is the issue of deciding which fields of study would result in better and high-paying jobs for the students, if not getting a good job is what is implied by the phrase "unlikely to succeed". The scope of different industries like medicine, engineering, scientific research, etc. keeps on changing all the time. There may be one field that is likely to generate more jobs at one point of time than another. What if the market gets hit by recession by the time the students finish their study? Even if it was in a more successful field, the students will have difficulty getting good jobs.

Nevertheless, it is possible that some students cannot decide what is best for them. In that case, they may turn to a counselor for help in choosing their subjects for them. So in my opinion, at best, the institutes can hire good and competent educational counselors for helping students out in their career- or study- related decisions. But it seems a little bit assuming and dictatorial to make this an obligation for such institutes.

Thus education institutions cannot and should not decide the subjects for their students, because not only is it difficult to apply, it is virtually impossible to find out what subjects are going to be more fruitful for the students in the long run.