The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

The issue statement suggests that the main purpose of technological advancements should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more time for leisure. I do not agree with this statement because in my opinion, though the primary goal of technology has indeed always been to enhance man’s efficiency, it has never been to provide him with more idle time. The more we are progressing in technology, the more we are becoming efficient with all the daily life chores. But it may be just one of the by-products of this progress that we supposedly have more time at our disposal. The mundane and time taking tasks like shopping and bill payments can now be done from the comforts of home. We no longer need to go to the bank for opening a Recurring Deposit account or transfer money. We do not need to go to the Electricity department to pay our bills; we do not even have to go to the mall to buy that forgotten packet of biscuits.

The time we save from all of these activities may give us more opportunities to relax for a while, but never can we think that all of the technology was developed so we could catch that episode of our favorite TV series. It is said that most technological inventions have been made keeping the needs of our defense forces in mind, it was later that they found application in our day-to-day lives. Important inventions like GPS, drones, night vision goggles were not invented for efficient home delivery of goods; they were invented to better assist our military. Computers, which today take up most of our free time, were developed for the US military during World War two. Scientists do research all the time, with all the technology that is around them, they do not find more leisure time; in fact they use it to further our development.

Quite ironically, more often than not, it is the technology that ends up taking up most of our time. People tend to stay engrossed in social networking sites a little too much; they spend more time shopping online, because everything has become easier now. Further, the more the people surround themselves with technology, the lazier they tend to be. The US, for example, has the highest number of obese children, one of the reasons behind which is the increased time spent in playing video games and watching TV. With all the time the people get, they don't usually utilize it, but contribute in making a society that is lazy. Such people would impede the progress of their society. Thus, increased leisure time, as a consequence or purpose of technology is not a very desirable option.

To conclude, it can be said that technology indeed may provide people with more time, but that is not its cardinal aim.