All students should be required to take at least one course in ethics, even if taking the course means a decreased emphasis on academic subjects.

School puts a lot of emphasis on academics. They are important for the development of the student. But, academics is not the only thing to be considered for the growth of a student. I agree that all studnets should be required to take at least one course in ethics,even it impacts the academics minorly.The emphasis can be reduced just a little from academics and be placed on a moral subject.

The school is responsible for developing a child to a teen/adult who is ready to take on the world. While, a person coming out of the school is academically skilled, it is necessary that he also becomes a person with good ethics. This should be developed in a child from a very young age. The minds of a young person are most vulnerable , they turn out to be the way they are moulded just like clay. Giving good direction in life from a very young age is very important. For instance, we have seen that adults who turn out to be criminals or persons which really bad moral are generally the ones who didn't have a perfect childhood either because there parents died or abandoned them. So, the way the minds of children are moulded in the school can determine there futures.

A little decreaseed emphasis in academic subjects won't harm school that much, because school already puts almost full emphasis on academics. On the contrary, it will provide students with a bit of relief from academics for the time being. They might learn something practical something they can apply and get better. Students doing something ethically wrong will realize the ramifications of being ethically bad. They can be forced into a right direction. The proffesor-student bond will become better. Ethics course can become like a open-ended counselling session between the student(who feels guilty for being unethical) and the professor. Who knows? We won't know until it it made compulsory.

The impact it can have on the lives of students can be colossal. For instance, a student who might depend on copying for passing all exams, might realize that this is not ethically correct. There is a strong possibility that his moral upgradation can result in him actually trying to study and pass the exam rather than copying. Students at a young age, don't realize whether they are dong right or wrong. The time when they realize is at most times, very late. There lives will be far better if from a young age they can distingwish this is ethically correct and this isn't. The way they look at things can thus,change.

I agree that the decreased academics will have some effect. But the pros outweigh the cons. Students can learn far more and become better individuals ethically coming out of the school.