The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government,industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition

Cooperation and competition are two distinct behavorial traits which can help an individual to grow based on their particular distinct nature. But, leaders in any particular field needs to be co-operative for the growth of the society. Because sometimes, competitive anture can prove destructive for both the individual and the society as a whole.

Firstly, person must be open to new ideas, be willing to change his strong held beliefs if they are found to be incorrect. These are the traits of a cooperative individual. Young people should be taught the importance of contrasting views when they are opposed. Instead of competing with them in rather unhealthy manner, young people should realize that this is there chance to learn and grow.

Furthermore, A cooperative person can help others grow too, in the duration of himself becoming more and more successful. A cooperative leader carry along with him, his entire team towards the path of success

Take for instance, the CEO of the company who listens to the trails and tribulations of most of his employees. He cooperates and tries to understand his employees and change the triublesome situations his employees are facing if needed, wouldn't all his employees be happy? Every individual will want to work in such a firm where he is valued. Where their seniors and alibi know the individual's importance, value what he brings to the table and cooperate with him by understanding his position.

Some would argue that if the leaders are extra cooperative to all the things, people might take advantage of them. Therefore, a thin line exists in understanding the difference between being cooperative and being submissive or a yes/man. If the situation arises the individual should understand where to draw that line. Take for instance, CEO of the company realizes that his employees are trying to take undue advantage of him, he must not cooperate under such circumstances. And by instilling cooperation, it doesn't mean that the person will become ignorant of people trying to doing malicious/decietful practices against him. He must cooperate but, when the situation arises, he must know that this is the time to fight, rather than being laid back. The King Martin Luther once quoted, "The people who passively cooperate with evil are just as much responsible as those perpetrating it"

I acknowledge that competitive spirit can help individuals to grow. But, when this competition blows out of proportion no one can estimate and in case of leaders, if it blows out it can prove detrimental to the entire society. Hence, cooperation must be instilled in youngsters from young age.