All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is rightly said that a company is only as good as its employees. The better the employees work, the more motivated they are and the stronger the relationship of employees within the company determines the quality and efficiency with which a company operates. However, even in a well-oiled machine, it is evident that some modifications or betterment is expected in the course of time. For such purposes, companies, rightfully, tend to hire consultants in order to flush out the dirt and provide new oil.

In every company, employees are asked to fill out surveys and forms in order to provide insider feedback for management officials. Employees can list out grievances, certain requirements and modifications to protocol in these surveys. This kind of feedback is very necessary for a company to harvest from their employees. This helps the management team of the company to find out how the employees feel about certain policies, which policies are working in tandem with company vision and which policies are causing a disruption in operations.

However, in order to craft new policies, flush out older, outdated ones and to bring in new protocols, or in short, to improve the efficiency of the company, it is imperative to hire a professional consultant who can provide an ousider view of the current situation.

The sole responsibility of consultants is to provide a fresh perspective. A consultant carries out deep research and analysis of company operations, policies and protocols and provides feedback. In the process, flaws are recognised, wrongdoings on various levels of company heirarchy are exposed and many shortcomings of company operations can be found out. This kind of negative feedback can be helpul in eradicating malpractices and outdated models of practice. It may also throw light upon the policies and protocols that are doing well and should be enhanced.

If this responsibility is given to the employees of the company, it may lead to anarchy as every employee will have his/her own grievances, specific requirements, etc. Employees can only see the working of their own company but a consultant can provide comparison with competitors. This kind of input can be extremely helpful in doing better not only in comparison with self but also other competitors in the market. Moreover, it also distrcats employees from focusing on their own work.

Employees are the ones that make up the company in terms of efficiency. Howe efficient employees are, the same can be said for the company. Consultants can provide information on employee work ethics which may lead to cuts of employees. Employees themselves will never be able to give that kind of feedback.

Companies hire ocnsultants usually when they are in trouble or when they need to perform better than competitors. However, it is good practice to have a ocnsultant on board at all times in order to keep the ship from the rocky shores and the oceanbed.