All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The given issue states that companies quite often hire consultants from outside to improve the efficacy of the company;however if the companies spent more time listening to their own employees , such consultants would be unnecessary. In my view, the statement is spot on- though at times we need a fresh set of eyes to gather perspective, not always does that lead to an improvement in efficiency; it is always better to first look into our own backyard, instead of approaching a third party. This thought will be further elucidated in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, consider our health. Now that fitness has become a fad, and that everybody is suddenly being health conscious, the number of health coaches and fitness experts have increased. Though these experts guide us efficiently through our fitness regime, based on immense data points to back their advice with; it is not until we ourselves start working out, and follow a strict diet and routine, will we be efficiently following their suggestions, to see our efforts to fruition. Until and unless we realise that there is something wrong with our diet or routine or workout, we would pay heed to their solicited advice.Thus, this example, drives home the point that instead of investing in a third party consultant, we should first deliberate and understand what exactly is the problem, and then decide if we need outside help or we can solve the puzzle on our own.

Similarly, in companies, be it a start-up or an mnc, it is first necessary to do the root cause analysis. and find out where the bottlenecks are. If we have not done the analysis ourselves, we wouldn't know which consultant we should hire, and we may end up hiring a wrong person or wasting money; if we could solve the problem ourselves. This is very common in start-ups, where the founders feel they are inefficient managers, and as the organisation starts growing, they decide to hire CEOs, without deliberating much on their grievances, and end up getting culled from the very company that they started.This wouldn't have happened if they would have first discussed with their fellow colleagues, what was needed to scale the organisation, or is there a consensus on the decision to hire a new manager.

Likewise, consider the case of a busy household today, families are nuclear, both parents are working, and kids are neglected. There is not much bonding in the family, so parents seek advise of professional counsellors who suggest family outings, and trips, but even on such excursions , parents may continue to work remotely and the kids are left to wander on their own. In this scenario the point missed is lack of communication and conversation between the family members, had the parents made an effort to realise that, they wouldn't have to spend money on go for family trips, and just by talking to each other, they would have bonded together as a happy family.

Thus according to the aforementioned paradigms, I agree with the issue which states that consultants would be unnecessary if companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees.