Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

The constant advancements in technology impact almost every aspect of our daily lives. These innovations are key to the growth and progress of mankind. Education, like any other field, is being transformed by new technology. This has provided teachers with new tools that allow them to make classroom sessions easier to understand, more intuitive and even accessible to students who are not present there. Adopting this kind of technology can revolutionize teaching and can definitely improve the quality of education as long as teachers use them effectively.

The internet is a vast trove of knowledge that educational institutes need to take advantage of. The internet allows teachers and students to access a wealth of knowledge with extreme ease. This can potentially allow teachers and students to go beyond their textbooks to gain deep insights into their subjects. The internet has also opened the door to distant learning and Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs). This form of education allows teachers to reach students through out the world. They provide a means for any student, no matter where they live, to have access to high quality lectures by teachers from reputed schools/universities. Courses for every level of education can be found online. Such technology is an invaluable resource to anyone who has the desire to learn.

Computers provide an effective way to visualize ideas taught at schools. Videos and animations help bring concepts to life and are much more interesting and memorable froms of learning as compared to words and two dimensional diagrams in text books. Tools like smart boards and presentations aid the teachers in communicating their thoughts and ideas in an intuitive manner. However, these tools are only as effective as the teachers who use them. As long as they are not misused as surrogates to conduct lessons, they can act as a very good means to enhance both the teaching as well as the learning experience.

Many forms of learning do require a human touch. Art, dance, music are some of the fields where a human instructor needs to be truly involved. Business schools are another example of where there must be group interaction and active engagement between the teachers and the students. Technology can definitely aid but cannot replace teachers in these scenarios. At times, presentations and videos may become monotonous as they are passive forms of learning. It is the responsibility of the teachers to follow up such sessions with lively discussions to make the experience fruitful.

The benefits of a teacher cannot be quantified. They can engage with the students at a personal level and help them solve problems that impede the learning process. Technology can be a useful aid that helps enhance the communication and flow of ideas between students and teachers. Technology can also help break barriers and provide good education to a larger audience. When used effeciently and diligently, today’s evolving technology can act as an indispensable asset to teachers and students.