Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Moral judgement is considered one of the most important characteristics of a leader. But it might not be the only one to consider. Respect towards a leader by the supporters is much considerable part when the matter of a leader's character comes. The moral judgement lacks behind in the paramters of certain things for the below three reasons.

Firstly, the moral judgement might get a leader gain popularity towards the whole society/institution/media but it might offend the hard-core supports of that leader. Sometimes moral judgement leads towards a decision that is not expected by many of the supporters. For example, a special provision for a backward sect. to provide better healthcare,food,job might get end up frustrating the supporters of the leader who withstands with the provision from the moral point of view.

Secondly, a leader has to understand the pulse of the sitauation an act according to it. If the leader is elected, he/she might end up losing crucial amount of vote for the moral judgement. One can't deny that it is impossible for a leader to make everyone happy. But the cut short situation must be done according to the public pulse.

Thirdly, by moral judgement, a leader can easily withstand with truth/good. But sometimes the question arises, does the truth/good always better for all? For example, a leader who is aware of the war situation in the border might not provide strong truth to the society as it has bad outcomes like fall in economy, unemployment, regional unstability etc. But with truth hidden, a war like situation might be evaded without creating those potential problems permanent. Again, withstanding the truth, the leader might end up losing/creating a war as well as social problems

Moral judge ment is a very important virtue not only for a leader but also for any common people out there. But particularly for a leader, sometimes this moral judgement might become a blot form the blue regarding his/her reputation. Particularly for a leader, he/she has to maintain his/her image as a leader and sometime has to leave the moral judgement behind. Hence I mostly agree that a leader has to plac ehis/her reputaion above the moral judgement as the later can be suicidal in many aspects.