Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

A controversial topic may create serious concern over the society and people with certain beliefs might not be tolerable towards the questioner. It might get messy if the situation is not handled with caution. The facts might create a society diveded between various concerns rather than a peaceful harmony. But sometimes a truth has to prevail beyond one's personal interest. Otherwise in future things might not get good and clash might get inevitable. The controversial topics should be on the priority list of debate due to four particular reasons.

Firstly, the debate over controversial topics will certainly alert intellectual people onf the society. This is very important as controversial topics may create serious situation and the whole society will get affected. If the topics are debated, the pros and cons has to come out. These points will not be crafted as weapons in future to disturb the harmony. People in a society might live with many beliefs, but cannot live with anger towards other and hence a proper discussion may point out the overall problems that could create problems in near future.

Secondly, for any society, freedom of speech is one of the important parameters that makes it liveable and greater than other ones. Freedom of speech crosses path with controversial topics several times. But the thing is that freedom of speech gives us to think way beyond the box. Discussion on controversial topics will give freedom of speech a certain position in society and the persons with decisive mindset might give him/her a second thought before a crime that it is freedom of speech that has overcomed the controversial topics and it well win against also himself/herself.

Thirdly, people get aware of the whole situation of a society when debated over controversial topics. It will help to identify who is who. An enemy infornt of a person will provide greater relief that a friend side by side. People with double characters also have to declare their beliefs that might harm anyone sooner rather than later.

Fourthly and most important thing is that these discussions will help to enlighten greater sect of people. A knowledged society is perhaps a peaceful society. And with a peaceful society a true leader can climb the hardest hurdels in future.

Many may argue that controversial topics may lead to social disturbance, hate crime, assasinations of scholars etc but they all are beacuse of those people who are sitting around and waiting for the perfect time to create anarchy. Moreover, these debates/discussions will cut off their ways to anarchism. Hence, I strongly agree with the discussion on controversial topics as it will be for a better future of all.