It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

No one can deny that there are both negative and positive aspects of old friends and new friends. It will be a very hard task to point out a winner one. But if I were forced to pick, I would definitely go for old friends. I think that old friends are more valuable than the new ones in terms of friendship. As I believe, my points on this decision are to be elaborated on the subsequent paragraphs.

First, the point that on friendship, the thing that first comes out is called "Trust". It is undeniable that trust is the base of true friendship. Without trust, anyone is not be called upon as anyones friend. My decision on this point is very much influenced by one of my personal experience. Once I got into a money debt. I could not lend money from anyone as I had nothing keep as the insurence. One of my old friend rescued me by lending money without the insurence. Moreover, he did not forced me to give something permanently in return. Upon asking, he said that it was the trust that was the base of this money lending. He trusted me particulaly as an old friend who will not deceive him in future. In several times I got these kind of experience where old friends come up in the time of need because old friendship contains trust unlike the new ones.

Second, old friends share an amount of memories. These memories are precious than any hidden treasure because a person lives through these memories. He/she might not get profited from them, but surely to be happiest if he/she have a lot of it. From my very personal experience I can testify for that. Once one of my neighbour had an accident after his retirement from the job and he went to coma. He was only be able to response through emotions. His childhood friends went frequently to visit him in the hospital and share a lot of old memories. By this, his conditions got improved and after successive sessions, he came out of coma. Doctors explained that the memories and the emotions attached to them were key part of his treatment. This is only a single example. Many more can be found from everyday life experience.

One might argue that a peron might not have the same social class as the old friends have which may trigger a discrimination. But the real truth is that there is no place of discriminiation in friendship. If it is present than it is not true friendship. One should leave it as it will only cause harm.

Finally, it is evident that old frienship has certain postive aspects that are totally undeniable in one's life. Hence, from my point of view, old frienship and friends are imporant than the new ones.