In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

While it is important to study and credit what has been achieved in a field of endeavor, it does not mean that without being strongly influenced by it, one can not make a significant contribution to the field. I can not abide by the all-or-nothing approach of the statement because I believe that the co-relation between influence from past achievements and novel contributions is highly situation dependent. I give three primary reasons to establish that none of the approaches is incorrect, and simply depends on the context.

Firstly, what does being influenced by the past achievements help us with? We can know the scope of the field and plan our course and targets accordingly. We can also learn from the mistakes that have already been made, so that we don't make the same mistakes again. And of course, we can use the past glories to keep ourselves motivated. Starting from the scratch and not paying heed to the history of the field might make it much difficult for someone to get to new discoveries in one lifetime. Also, a lot of the discoveries and major contributions in a field are simply improvements and adjustments to the previous results. That is something that a researcher might miss out on by not considering the past achievements.

However, by not being overly fixated with the past of a field, a researcher can bring in fresh perspectives and ideas to solve the existing problems in ways that have not been thought before. In this way, he will be able to breakout from the traditional path and will be able to innovate more freely by not being bound in potentially restricting conventions. This is a trend that is increasingly being seen in the inter-disciplinary scientific world of today. For example, a lot of the scientists, known for their contributions to Computer Science, are actually Mathematicians. A lot of ideas from Electrical Engineering have also crept into Computer Science and in turn, Computer Science has had ubiquitous effects on a lot of other fields such as Biology, Physiology etc. These innovations were only possible when someone brought in new trends and ideas.

Also, if we completely agree with the statement, it would mean that we would never be able to start any new endeavors. In order to start a new field, one has to have an independent thinking without being influenced by external factors. When Neil Armstrong and others first landed on the moon, they didn't have any past achievements in the field to take cues from. They were the first. Similarly, every single field in the world was started by true visionaries with completely novel ideas and even more importantly, unparalleled ambitions. Therefore, in such cases, the statement does not hold true. However, the statement will be relevant when it comes to motivating other people to join the field. I am sure that a lot of young kids would have aspired to become astronauts after seeing the first moon landing.

Therefore, from the above examples, it is clear that we can't simply agree or disagree with the statement as it not such a simple matter. It varies from place to place, time to time and person to person. One can be influenced by past achievements and try to further improve them, or one might bring in completely fresh ideas and build something novel. Both of them would have made humongous contributions to the field and it would be unfair to compare the two. Hence, we can conclude that none of the approaches is incorrect.