Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Leadership plays a vital role in the overall performance of an organization, be it a business, an educational institute or a government of a country. A leader is someone who leads his subordinates on the path of betterment and success of both, the individuals as well as the organization. There is no doubt that the selection of the leader plays a huge part in the performance of an organization. However, in my opinion, the duration of a leader's term totally depends on the team he's leading and will be different for different organizations. I will put forward three arguments to prove my point.

One benefit of having a leader for a long term is that he will have sufficient time to execute his vision and plans for the organization, without having the pressure of his term ending. This has been observed in various organizations: Mark Zuckerberg has been leading Facebook ever since its inception and the shares of Apple plummeted after a change in leadership. Steve Jobs had led the tech-giant for such a long time without having any major issues. An extended leadership term also helps develop and stabilize the working culture of an organization, since the job of a leader is not only to get the most out of his employees but also establish a culture in terms of ethics and dilligence. Hence, in such cases, an extended leadership might be better for an organization.

However, an argument in the opposite direction might be that a change in leadership can help move the organization out of stagnation. A new leader can bring in fresh ideas as well as a new perspective that might rejuvenate the working atmosphere of a company. Recently, we saw that the shares as well as the number of new and innovative products increased massively when Satya Nadella took over as the CEO of Microsoft. It is said that he has played a huge role in completely revamping the working atmosphere at Microsoft, which was earlier said to be so competitive that it was at the verge of being toxic. Nadella has helped create an atmosphere of innovation and healthy competition which can be seen in the rise of the company's stocks and employee satisfaction rates. Therefore, in such cases, it might be imperative to have leadership changes after some time.

Another place where an extended leadership might be detrimental to the people is the government of a country. An extended leadership stint might result in making the leadership party extremely powerful which is not a feature of a truly democratic state. We can see from the case of Zimbabwe, how even a democratically chosen leader can overthrow democracy and start a regime of tyranny and dictatorship. In cases of leadership of a nation, it is extremely important that those in power should be kept under check and there should be a provision to rescind their leadership by democratic methods.

The above examples show that there is no fixed answer to when there should be a change in leadership. It depends on the organization in question. I discussed how a change in the leadership of Microsoft proved beneficial for it, however it doesn't mean that you change the leader even if he is performing well. We have seen that in educational institutes, the Principals or Deans stay on power for years and years on end, without compromising the integrity of the institute. In conclusion, the provision to change a leader should be there at all times, however a necessary change in leadership is not the correct way for any organization.