Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

When I was 5, I used to play with crayons and wanted to be a painter. I grew up a little, and at 10, I used to gaze upon the stars and wanted to be an Astronaut. I grew up a little more, and at 16, I used to idolize sport stars and wanted to be a cricketer. I also remember being amazed by the wildlife and wanting to be an adventurer, not even knowing what it meant. Will I end up pursuing any of the passions that I had in my younger days? Probably not. Does it mean that any of those professions is any lesser than the one I'm pursuing now? Absolutely not. It's just that as I grew older and wiser, I have identified my strengths, weaknesses, and talents and I'm in a much better situation to chose a career that suits me the best. All through this journey, my schools have played a crucial part in helping me make those realizations. And that is what I believe is the responsibility of the educational institutes: to help the students in discovering what career paths suit them the best.

Most of the decisions that young children make are not based on practical considerations. However, it does not mean that they are tantamount to nothing. The dreams that the children see for themselves and their future indicate their general interests. The role that educational institutes have to play there, is to help their students ground these dreams in reality. After this, if a student is actually motivated to achieve the goal and was not just influenced by the fame that the goal brings, he will work hard and try to achieve it. If not, he will look for another goal for himself all while becoming more mature and self-aware. When a young child aspires to be a sport star, he might be inspired by the thrill of the sport or by the fame that it brings. After being shown the true picture, he can decide for himself if he wants to pursue it or not.

In my opinion, there is no field of study that is likely to give more success than the others. It all depends on the individual and his interests and strengths. If we see the distribution, all the fields will follow the famous Bell's curve, which means that in each field there will be people who are very successful and people who can't make it through their studies, while most of the people in that field will lie somewhere around the middle. At least in India, a lot of students get influenced by the bloated income figures in the news channels and opt for fields which they think will give them more success, only to end up realizing, albeit too late, that they were not made for it. This is yet another situation, where schools need to play a big role, i.e. in making students see through the spurious paparazzi and helping them realize the fact that if they're truly interested in any field of study, they can be successful in it.

One might argue that people should be left alone to make their own decisions as is their right. To counter that I'd say that in helping the students in the ways mentioned before, schools wouldn't be influencing the students but only helping them make more informed choices. Young minds are malleable and they need to be handled with care. Schools have a huge role to play in shaping the minds of these children to help make them better humans. A person can only thrive in today's society if he truly understands himself.