The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Teaching is an art that is very difficult to master. It involves a lot of gray areas and nuances and it is extremely rare to find perfect teachers. Indeed, it might be extremely tough for one to become a perfect teacher, however following some guidelines might make one a better teacher than before. In my opinion, an effective method of teaching can not ignore the mistakes of a student and I discuss three reasons to justify my assertion.

First, if the student is not punished for his mistakes, he won't learn to not repeat them. Learning is a process of reinforcement: if you get a positive reward for doing something, you tend to repeat doing that, whereas if you get a negative reward, you try not to do the same thing again. This is the basic principle of learning found in nature. This is how all the animals teach their young ones and there is no reason for humans to not follow the same path. By only praising the positive actions, a student will surely learn to repeat that action but he will still continue to make the mistakes which are being ignored during the teaching process. Therefore, it is imperative that both positive as well as negative actions be rewarded suitably.

If the student in question is a young child being taught various life skills at home, punishing or reprimanding him for negative actions become even more important. Not keeping the child's behavior under control might end up making him domineering and difficult to deal with at a later stage. Furthermore, only giving positive rewards might make life look all too merry for the child, which will not prepare him well for what is to come later. Real life can be difficult in which one is punished harshly for all the mistakes. Not making a child learn this important lesson at an early age might make it difficult for him to cope at later stages of life. For example, the primary reason why so many students are seen crying in the first few days at school is because at home, all their whims were catered to, whereas in school, they are made to be disciplined, something they had not been taught before. They struggle to cope with the new atmosphere they find themselves in. This further emphasizes the importance of punishment during learning.

Even though I said that punishment plays an important part in the training process, excessive punishment might defeat the purpose of learning. That is why only a suitable punishment should be given. Going overboard with the punishment might take the fun part out of the learning process which makes it so effective in the first place. Especially in the beginning, some mistakes can be ignored to keep the student motivated. However, it would be foolish to take the punishment aspect out of the game completely. Giving controlled punishment is one of the factors that make teaching such a difficult profession to master. The best teachers in the schools are often the ones that balance punishment and reward properly.

In conclusion, punishment is an integral part of the learning process and adequate and suitable punishment is required to make the process effective. However, one should be judicious in handing out punishments so as to not ruin the fun of the process all together. Heeding to this advice might go a long way in improving one's teaching.