Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Dr. Karp, in his article claims that his interview-centered approach to studying cultures is superior to the observation-centered approach adopted by Dr. Field. To support his claim, Dr. Karp tries to contradict Dr. Field's findings that the children of Tertia were reared by an entire village. According to Dr. Karp, the evidence opposes these findings and show that it is actually their biological parents that are responsible for the children's upbringing. However, Dr. Karp's argument is full of assumptions and lacks evidence as discussed below.

Firstly, Dr. Karp opposes Dr. Field's 20 year old conclusion by using evidence from a more recent time. It is well and truly possible that the traditions and culture of Tertia might have undergone a massive change in this period of time. In this case, even though Dr. Karp's findings will not be wrong, they simply can not be used to invalidate Dr. Field's work. Instead of just focusing on the current situation, more evidence should be collected about the changes that have occurred in the last 20 years. If evidence is found supporting such a sociological change, then Dr. Karp's conclusion will stand invalidated.

Secondly, Dr. Karp assumes that simply talking more about biological parents in an interview implies that the parents have a larger role in the children's upbringing. This makes for a fallacious argument as it contains an unwarranted jump in logic. There is no evidence provided to link the two and under no circumstances can this conclusion be drawn simply on the bases of time spent in talking about the parents. More concrete evidence is required to confirm that indeed it is only the biological parents that are responsible for rearing of the children in the village. If no such evidence is found, Dr. Karp's argument will completely lose its merit.

Finally, even if we accept Dr. Karp's findings that the children in the island of Tertia are reared by their parents instead of by the whole village, as suggested by Dr. Field, it would be incorrect to claim that interview-centered approach is better than the observation-centered approach solely based on one case study. It might be possible that one approach works better for one village and explains the observations and the culture more holistically, but to extrapolate this observation to all the places would be erroneous. To actually make such a claim, both the approaches need to be tested on data collected at similar time for a large number of places. Only after testing them on a sufficient number of cultures, can one method be announced better than the other.

Therefore, we can see that Dr. Karp's argument as it stands now can not be taken at its face value. Not only is the evidence severely lacking, but the flow of the argument is fallacious as well. Therefore, a lot more evidence and a more cogent line of argument is required if we are to compare the two methods of studying cultures.