Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandal is an event when a person or an organization dupes the system by exploiting some of its logical loopholes and shortcomings. The statement suggests that such incidents are useful because they can help redirect the attention of the public towards important matters. While I mostly agree with the notion, there are a few points to consider against the notion as well. I go into detail about some of these standpoints below.

I believe that we always learn from our mistakes. If we don't make mistakes, we won't be able to progress in our lives. Scandals can be interpreted as the mistakes of our justice department and constitution, and there provide an important means of alleviating some of the pertinent issues. In 2006, there was a major scandal regarding coal manufacturing in India, the main reason behind which was the haphazard management system. There were several complaints by the workers as well as numerous protests about the system. There were rallies organized by the workers about the mismanagement of the funds in the industry, however the common man, so as to say was not bothered by it. The government's position was even more nonchalant, deciding not only to ignore the protests but to shamefully reject the existence of such problems. It only took the infamous coal scam of 2008 for the government as well as the common people to recognize the issues that had been plaguing the organization for so long. It only took another year for the government to implement a complete overhaul of the system and to remove any venal components in its management. Ever since the scandal, the coal industry of India has been flourishing and contributing significantly to the GDP. Had there not been that scandal, the industry would have been stuck in the limbo that had been constructed due to an erroneous system.

Not only can scandals help an organization or a country move forward in a progressive way, it can also bring its citizens together. It is an essential part of human nature that we turn to the people in the same boat as us, metaphorically speaking. Whenever there is a large scale scandal in a country, it affects all of its citizens. This in turn makes the people come together and fight the evil factions of the system, which creates a sense of togetherness as brotherhood in the society. To support this notion, we only need to look at the current struggles in Hong Kong. The state of the city is in turmoil and its citizens are constantly protesting against the scandalous government and police brutality. I'm not commenting on who is right or who is wrong, as it is a very complex matter and warrants an in-depth analysis of its own. But an unintended side-affect of the movement is that it has brought people together. A lot of free train tickets can be seen pasted on the walls of the stations for the protesters to use if they can't afford. There have been reports of several taxi-drivers providing free services to the protesters and to journalists who are brave enough to report the issues. This situation clearly illuminates the point I'm trying to prove.

Yes, the opponents of the notion can argue that the scandals cause a lot of inconvenience for the people as well as has an adverse affect on the money bank of an organization or a country. However, this would simply be a myopic assessment of a much more complicated matter which has many subtle points to consider. While it might cause some problems in the short run, as clear from my examples, it would eventually help improve the functioning of a society or an organization. It will provide essential lessons which would only help make life safer and easier for one and all. Long term benefits can not be sacrificed for avoiding short term difficulties, as such revolutions can help us avoid stagnation and constantly evolving. The lessons from such scandals will also teach us to make relevant changes to the systems to avoid any other incidents in the future as well, without waiting for another scandal to take place.