The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the above statement, the writer suggests that one should prefer Adams Reality over Fitch Reality if one wants to sell one's home quickly. The reasons given are that Adams Reality has a higher number of agents, their revenue is higher, and the properties listed with them sell faster. However, we can not take the writer's suggestion on its face value as the argument is based on several stated and unstated assumptions. I discuss three of those assumptions below.

The writer claims that having more workers and a majority of them working full time makes Adams Reality superior to Fitch Reality. However, no reason is provided for the assumption. It might be the case that Fitch's working structure requires a fewer number of agents and doesn't require them to work full time. For example, with a better work management and by assigning properties to the agents that are closer to their homes, it might be possible to extract the same amount of work from a fewer employees more conveniently. Furthermore, having more workers than required results in a lethargic working atmosphere, as a large number of employees will have little to no work to do. For smooth functioning of an organization, the work should be challenging as well as interesting. If this is not the case with Adams Reality, then to declare them better on the basis of number of agents would be incorrect and would weaken the writer's argument.

The writer presents last year's revenues, which were higher for Adams, to further argue that they're a better firm as compared to Fitch. However, such conclusions can not be drawn from only a single year's data. What if the trends of last few years show that the revenues of Adams Reality are dwindling whereas those of Fitch Reality are on a rise. This could be the case if Fitch is a young and growing organization whereas Adams is an old organization well past its prime. This could also explain Fitch having a fewer number of employees as they are still in the growing phase. If the respective fall and rise of Adams and Fitch are meteoric, it might be better to place your cards with Fitch Reality as in future, they might have an upper hand in the market. The homeowner does not take this into account in his letter and this might be the source of a fallacious conclusion.

Finally, the writer says that the homes listed with Adams reality sell faster than those listed with Fitch. However, the basis of this argument is only his own experience of selling different houses once with each firm, and that too ten years apart. This is too little of an evidence to draw any meaningful conclusions. Since the transactions were about 10 years apart, a lot might have changed in this time. As I previously argued, it might be the case that Fitch is a young establishment and 10 years ago, it might have just started doing business, whereas Adams Reality might have been well settled at that time. Also, the two properties are different, and we are not given any knowledge of their quality of structure or neighborhood. If the former property was not properly constructed or was in a shady neighborhood, it would obviously make it difficult to sell, which might have been a cause for the delay. Furthermore, the real estate market, which is notorious for being inconsistent might have been very different during the two times. Therefore, making conclusions based on these two transactions is not a wise idea and the results are bound to be full of errors.

The above examples demonstrate that the arguments made by the homeowner in the letter can not be considered correct without any further evidence. If any of the above above assumptions are proven unwarranted, it'll affect the validity of the argument severely and will make it lose its credibility. Hence, to make a correct assessment and comparison of the two firms, a lot more data and a more cogent line of argument is required.