The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The claim suggests that the firstborn offsprings tend to produce higher levels of the hormone cortisol as compared to their younger siblings. To support the assertion, the writer of the letter states observations from monkeys and humans in stimulating situations, as well as pregnant monkeys. However, more evidence and reasoning is required to draw any conclusions from the observations, as there are many alternate explanations that could invalidate the conclusions drawn in the statement. I will present a couple of such explanations.

First of all, the environment and the time-duration of the experiments is not clear from the writer's statement. The amount of cortisol produced in the body might as well vary with age. In this case, if the offsprings of a parent were all tested at the same time, according to the writer, it would have been found out that the elder siblings produced more cortisol. However, this could have simply been because of the age difference. The explanation, that the amount of cortisol produced increases with age, would invalidate the writer's conclusion. To challenge this explanation, the writer might assert that the first-time mother monkeys also had higher levels of cortisol as compared to the mothers who had had several offsprings. Even if this is true, there is no evidence that links the levels of cortisol in the mother's body to the levels of cortisol produced by the child in later stages of life. Therefore, this observation can not be used to defend the writer's conclusion.

Further, the experiments might have been done on a homogenous group of monkeys. A group of 18 monkeys is not a large enough sample to make generalizations about all of the species. It is very well possible that the trend of levels of cortisol is only local to a single species of monkeys found in one geographical area. More extensive experiments on a heterogenous set of animals need to be conducted to draw any logical conclusions from the observations. It is in fact, a very common fallacy that happens in the scientific community. In the data science terminology, this is known as the dataset bias. This means that if the data that we are using to draw conclusions is not representative of the real world, then our results will be biased. This usually happens if the elements of the data are not independent of each other to a large extent. This is exactly the case that can be seen in the writer's observations. If all the monkeys are similar in nature, then the data is inconsistent and the results are biased. A more holistic and inclusive experiment might invalidate the observations mentioned by the writer and by association, the conclusions drawn from it.

The above explanations show that the writer's account is fallacious and should not be taken at its face value. To associate any amount of credibility to the conclusion, a lot more evidence and a more comprehensive reasoning is required. As it currently stands, the writer's conclusions can not be given any weight and should not be published in a scientific journal.