Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument made in the problem statement is specious and has quite a few logical fallacies. We can not simply accept the conclusion without further probing into the many assumptions made in the statement.

First of all, to base an argument based on just one occurance of the event of a "Palean" basket being found away from the village is not justified enough. In general, any data will have outliers and this observation or discovery might as well be one. There are numerous ways by which a single basket may have crossed the river. For example, it could've been carried along by strong winds or, in case the baskets are light enough, could've been carried by some of the birds. Efforts should be put into locating more baskets of such type at other locations. In case that a concentrated amount of such baskets is found at another far away place, the conclusion drawn in the statement could be given some consideration.

Another clear assumption that the statement makes is that the river could only be crossed using boats. This is also not necessarily true, as there are other means to cross the river as well. Anthropological studies have shown many ancient civilizations used strong animals such as horses to cross the rivers. This could be the method used by the Palean people as well. If evidence is found supporting this theory, it will directly repudiate the assumption on which the conclusion is based.

Furthermore, the fact that no Palean boats have been found, does not necessarily imply that no boats existed at that time. This is another implicit assumption that statement makes. Again, there could be numerous ways to refute this claim. Maybe, at a certain point in time, the Palean people decided to migrate, taking their boats along, and that is the reason why no boats have been found in or around that region. Again, any evidence of such migration or existence of boats in the area will prove detrimental to the argument presented in the statement.

The fact that the Brim River is currently very deep and broad doesn't mean that it was always that way. Maybe it was a chain of geographical events that made the river take the form that it currently has and that during the prehistoric times is was a calm and narrow river. More investigation is required and a detailed study of the geography of the area is needed. Any evidence found supporting the change in dynamics of the river will weaken the argument as well.

All in all, the above points show that the statement is not cogent enough to be simply accepted as it is and further investigation is necessary to prove its correctness.