Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Any country primarily consists of two types of regions: rural and urban. The urban areas comprise of the big cities with their fast-paced and happening lifestyles whereas the rural areas represent austerity and a relatively laidback and peaceful lifestyle amidst the farms and tranches. Both of these facets, despite in a stark contrast to each other, are equally important for the well-being and prosperity of a country. I agree with the fact that the governments must ensure that the major cities are well-funded for their operations, however I don't condone the reason that has been provided in the statement. I present reasons in favor of the claim followed by the reasons that repudiate the reason.

For most countries, a majority of the population resides in its major cities. It has been estimated that in India, about 65% of the population resides in urban areas, and the contribution of the top 5 cities in terms of GDP is a whopping 75%. These are not the numbers to be brushed aside, and they show how important the well functioning of the cities is for the progress of a country. Most of the major companies, industries and educational institutes are based in urban areas. If the infrastructure of the cities is not well maintained, then the activities being conducted in these areas will not be able to run as smoothly as they should, thereby affecting the economy severely. Therefore, to keep the cities up and running at all times, necessary funds should be timely alloted to them.

Big cities also represent diversity. If we compare the demographics of major cities to that of the villages or the countryside, we will find that a larger variety of people, from various backgrounds and countries reside in the cities, whereas a majority of the population of the villages comprises of the indigenous people. The foreign visitors, therefore, will judge and assess a place or a country on the basis of its cities. Now, a good impression on the visitors will be conducive for the improvement of foreign trade of a country, which again is crucial for its progress and development as it brings a lot more funds as well as services to a country. This also improves the standard of living of the public as well as exposes them to a myriad of international products, making the population more erudite. This shows that it is vital for the cities to be well burnished for which the necessary funds will be required.

However, to say that it is the cities that primarily preserve and generate a nation's culture would be incorrect. Contradictory to that, I believe that it is actually the villages that do so. Before the industrial revolution, all the countries were separated and little contact with each other. Therefore, each of them had characteristics and traits that were local to them. However, the globalization brought the world together and people started travelling cross-countries much more than they did before. Despite the increased travel resulting in a more heterogenous population in many parts of the world, this trend was mostly limited to the big cities. This had a huge impact on the cultures of these cities, as people became more sophisticated so as to accomodate their companions foreign to their culture. In a way, the local culture got slightly muted in the process. However, the culture didn't get completely eradicated, it only reduced to the amount such that it makes the cities more inclusive as well as such that cities across the countries have their own flavors, so as to say. It is mostly the rural areas in which the original culture is still practiced in its full glory, with small quantities of it seeping into the cities to keep the beautiful equilibrium intact.

Therefore, even though I whole-heartedly agree that the cities should recieve adequate funds, to claim that they are primarily responsible for the propagation of culture would be grossly incorrect.