Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A lot of thought is usually put into deciding a university's curriculum for various departments and fields. Whether or not the students should be made to take a variety of courses outside their fields, and the extent of such enforcement is a crucial part of the curriculum. The prompt suggests that indeed, the students be made to take courses from various other departments and fields. Personally, I do not agree with the all-or-nothing approach of the statement and stand somewhere in the middle. I provide a reason why it might be a good idea to have such a policy and also a situation in which it might not be so good. To conclude, I will present a solution that takes both sides of the argument into consideration.

A lot of countries, like the US allow students to join the universities with undisclosed or undecided majors, whereas universities in some other countries like India, have the provision of changing ones major after the freshman year. In both of these cases, the students take courses from various other departments and discern where their interests lie. In the former case, this helps the students decide what major to take, while in the latter case, the students can decide if they want to switch majors or not. It can also help decide the minor they might want to take. This system is particularly useful because a high school might not be able to provide enough exposure at a higher level for the students to be able to make an informed decision regarding what they want to study and making students study a variety of introductory courses in various fields gives them an overview of what lies ahead in each field. The colleges which have a rigid structure might have students stuck with a major that they chose without sufficient information, which might severely affect their careers. Therefore, it is imperative in this case that the students be given knowledge of various different fields.

However, to counter the above assertion, one might argue that there are many students who have made well informed choices, and are confident and sure of the career path they want to take. Making them go through the tedious curriculum of having to study what they have no interest in is unfair. Not only is it wasting their crucial time and money, it might also have a bad effect on their grades. By having to study what they don't want, they might not put as much efforts into their courses as they have put into the courses of their interests and therefore, they might end up with bad grades. Some students are not able to recover from a dismal freshmen year performance, which might have a detrimental effect on the prospect of their internships or jobs. Therefore, in such a situation, it can be seen that one should be made to study only what one wants.

Therefore, after seeing both sides of the argument, we can see the positives and negatives of both of those, thus necessitating the need of a middle ground policy. The best policy in this case would be that the provision to take extra courses should always be there for the students. Therefore, for those who want an introduction to various fields in order to decide their majors should be able to do so, whereas the students who are sure should be able to dive right in into their fields of interest. Also, a lot of people have secondary interests which they might want to explore. The presence of the provision to take electives will mean that those students will not be devoid of that opportunity and they will be able to learn whatever they want. Therefore, instead of choosing one side, a policy that is beneficial for both the sides is the correct way to approach the problem.