Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Late Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam, one of India's most beloved Presidents and a prolific scientist said that to predict a nation's future, you only need to look at the accessibility of higher education to its youth. Indeed, a country's education system plays a huge role in determining its progress in the coming years. The prompt suggests that free university education should be given to all those who qualify for but can't afford the tuition. I agree with the statement for two reasons and disagree with it for one.

Firstly, making university level education affordable for everyone will increase the accessibility of education for the masses. Better accessibility will mean that a higher percentage of the population will be educated and will be qualified for employment, and there is nothing better for a country than an employable youth. It comes as no surprise that the countries with higher percentage of people with a college degree have lower unemployment rates. If college education is provided for free to those who can not afford it, no one will miss out on education because of their family background but instead, this policy will help all those poor families come out of poverty, which will further bolster the economy of a country. Therefore, not only will a successful implementation of the policy help improve the situation of its poor population, it will also improve the financial situation of a country.

Further, having a more educated population will also help a country improve in terms of globalization. More educated people are more likely to travel to foreign countries for work related tasks or leisure activities, as they are more exposed to that culture. This increase foreign travel rate of a country will help in getting it a better recognition on a global level, which will further help in improving trade. People of a country going abroad and interacting with foreigners might even motivate some of the foreigners to travel to the country which will improve the travel scene of a country. Therefore, the increased education level of a country which will be the result of the policy will have manifold positive effects on a country's economy.

However, not all countries might be able to implement the policy. Some countries might have more serious problems that require more immediate attention than improving the education system. For example, in some war torn countries like Afghanistan or Iraq, the immediate concerns of the government will be to provide a safe housing for its citizens. Another concern might also be to strengthen their army so as to be in a better situation to fight the terrorists. In such a situation, increasing funds for education might be anachronous and put undue pressure on the country's already depleted funds. Sure, once the war is over and peace is established, the government's focus might shift to making sure that education is readily available for all, but in the current situation, implementation of such a policy would be pointless.

Therefore, we can conclude that if a country has sufficient funds, the government should make it a priority to make education more accessible for its citizens. As discussed, it will have a double advantage to both the situation of the families as well as the economic situation. Improved trade and tourism might also result because of higher education rate in a country.