The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In a letter to the editor, a Central Plaza store owner recommends that the city should prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. The owner sites the increase in litter and vandalism to the decrease in the number of shoppers in the plaza and tacitly links vandalism to the increased activity of the skateboarders in the area. However, in order to evaluate the merit of the recommendation, there are a few pivotal questions that should be answered.

Firstly, is the decrease in consumers universal for all the stores in the plaze? It might as well be the case that the numbers are dwindling only for a few stores in the plaza and the store owner presents a biased opinion of a few other fellow store owners in order to put his point across. To effectively answer this question, an independent survey needs to be conducted across all the stores in the Central Plaza to see if the observation presented by the writer is indeed true. If in the survey, it turns out that many of the stores are doing just fine, then the observation on which the argument is being made would be proved incorrect, and the recommendation will lose its merit. On the other hand, if indeed the numbers have been on a decline universally, then we can proceed further to identify the root cause of the problem.

Second, are the skateboarders actually responsible for vandalism and litter? While it might be the case that both, the skateboarding and vandalism have been on the rise together, there is no evidence presented to prove if the former is actually responsible for the latter. The writer might be making a very common mistake of linking corelation and causation. On-field observation of a few weeks should be enough to provide credibility to the claim, if it is true. However, if the observations fail to link the two, then the writer's argument will weaken severely.

Finally, does vandalism and/or the skateboarding activity actually affect the consumers? There might be other reasons behind the residents choosing not to visit the stores more often. For instance, maybe there's another plaza that has opened in the vicinity, and the people of the area prefer to visit that one instead. Or maybe the stores in the plaza increased their prices because of which the people have stopped buying goods from these stores. Any of these situations will completely invalidate the shop owner's claim that it is the skateboarders who have been detrimental to the consumer activity in the plaza.

The above questions show that the writer's argument is full of assumptions, which if proven unwarranted will nullify the claims as well as the recommendation. Even if the observations stated are unbiased and correct, the arguments of the writer are not cogent enough and the derivation from the claims to the result is full of fallacies. Therefore, before taking any actions to solve the problem, more evidence is required along with a more thorough analysis of the situation. The writer's claim, as it stands, can not be taking for its face value.