The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette, the writer suggests reducing the number of moped rentals by a factor of half during the summer season. According to the writer, doing so will reduce the number of annual moped accidents by 50 percent, because a similar action had similar results in the neighboring island of Seaville. However, before taking any actions according to the recommendation, there are a few key questions that need to be answered.

First, do a majority of moped accidents take place in the summer season? The writer assumes so, and therefore suggests that controlling the accidents in summers only will bring down the number of annual accidents significantly. However, we do not know if the summers contributes to a majority of accidents in the first place. It might be the case that equal or even more number of mishaps take place in other seasons. Maybe in monsoons, the accident rate is higher because of the wet roads. A similar affect could have been in the winters because of snowfall, which causes slippery roads. The writer also argues that the population increasing in the summers implies a higher accident rate in that season. However, we are not given the initial population to check if the percent population growth is significant. Therefore, answering this question is very important to evaluate the recommendation.

Second, does an increase in population imply an increase in accidents? Even if we accept that the population increases significantly in the summer season, the writer provides no argument or evidence relating it with the number of accidents. It may be possible that with the increase in population, the average speeds of the vehicles come down and hence, resulting in a decrease in vehicle-related accidents. We can not make proper assessment unless we are given a bifurcated accident data for all seasons. If indeed we find that with the increase in population, the number of accidents goes up, we can give some credit to the suggestion and try to evaluate it further. On the other hand, if that is not the case, the argument will completely lose its merit.

Finally, is something that works for Seaville, guaranteed to work for the Balmer Island? This is another assumption that the writer makes. He asserts that because decreasing the number of moped rentals reduced the number of accidents in Seaville, it will have a same affect in Balmer as well. However, this might not necessarily be true as the reasons behind accidents might be completely different for the two places. Maybe it's just that the road network is not adequate in Seaville which is the prime cause of accidents. In that case, reducing the number of mopeds will only be a superficial solution, where a deep rooted cause needs to be eliminated. A proper survey of the reasons behind the accidents needs to be conducted before moving on with the recommendation. The writer's argument will not hold water if there are other reasons significantly increasing the number of accidents in the Balmer Island.

The above questions show that the writer's argument as it stands now, is fallacious because of its several stated and unstated assumptions. If any of these assumptions is proven unwarranted, the writer's suggestion will be severely weakened. Therefore, more evidence, along with a more cogent line of argument is required to find out measures for curbing the accident rate in the Balmer Island.