Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Art is an integral part of our lives and culture, and it can be present in various forms, for eg. movies, music, paintings, sculptors etc. It often acts as a medium for people to forget the worries of their lives and wander in the surrealistic atmosphere that art can provide. Needless to say, protection and conservation of art is vital for sustenance of a society. In my opinion, government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that it can flourish and be available to all, and I provide three reasons to support my cause.

First, the arts provide a means of living for a large number of people. Consider, for instance, a movie theater, which employees a variety of workers, ranging from the people at ticket counters to projection managers, from sweepers who clean the cinema to chefs who cook and serve food, among many others. The salaries of the actors, directors, camera-persons, singers, etc. also depend on the accessibility of cinema to common people. We can examine any other form of arts such as music or painting and we will realize that each one of those is responsible for providing a living to numerous people, which will not be possible if these forms of art are to perish. There are many forms of art, for instance films, which require cinemas and paintings, which require museums for their propagation. Maintenance of such big buildings might not be feasible for self-funded organizations, which makes government funding even more important.

Not only does the arts provide living for the citizens of a country, it also contributes massively to its GDP and overall income. The tourism levels in the city of Bruge in Belgium increased by more than ten times after the release of the movie In Bruges. The Lord of the Rings movies had a similar impact on the tourism and GDP of New Zealand, the country in which most parts of these movies were shot. Therefore, by investing in art, the government has double advantage in that it is also replenishing the funds of the country alongside sustaining the art form.

Now, supporters of the opposite notion might suggest that if an art form is popular or good enough, it should be able to fund itself via revenues from tickets. This claim has an unstated assumption that a "good" art form is also popular. As we know, art is highly subjective and there can be various art forms that only cater to a niche audience. These art forms will not be able to fund themselves irrespective of their quality. Furthermore, making entry paid will severely affect the reach of the art form as it might no longer be accessible to certain people of the society. Therefore, relying only of ticket revenues is a dangerous notion that will impede the impact of art on society.

The above examples illustrate the need for government funding for arts as it will not only help sustain the art, it will also provide a means of living for a large number of people as well as it will bolster the economy of a country. Therefore, I see no reasons why government should not allot adequate funds for arts and culture.