The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Board of Directors of Monarch Books recommends opening a café in the store replacing the children's book section. The board claims that doing so will attract more customers because the percentage of children's population has been on a decline. According to the recommendation, opening a café in the store will help the Monarch Books store compete better with Regal Books, which opened its own café recently as well. However, in order to judge the viability of the recommendation, the board needs to answer three crucial questions regarding the plan.

First, will the addition of a café actually attract more customers? In the prompt, the board of directors makes this assertion without providing any basis for the argument. Having an associated café in the premises might tarnish the image of the Monarch Book Store as "The Book Store", which might be a turn off for the hardcore book enthusiasts. If these hardcore readers are the regular customers of the book store, and are responsible for a large chunk of their sales, alienating them might prove detrimental to their cause. Sure, having an adjoining café might attract more coffee drinkers, but its not guaranteed that they will buy the books as well. In this case, having a café will negatively affect their revenues.

Further, does a reducing percentage of children imply a corresponding reduction in the sale of children's books as well? The prompt implicitly assumes that because the percentage of young children is reducing, the corresponding books sales are reducing as well, which might be a fallacy. First of all, a reducing percentage does not mean a reducing number of children. It's possible that owing to better health-care facilities, the life expectancy has been on a rise, which has made the percentage population of children lower. It might be the case that children contribute more to the book sales than adults. For a lot of families, it is possible that the adults only buy books when accompanying their children to buy books for them. Therefore, shutting the door on children will not only stop the revenues coming from the sales of children's books but might also affect the sales of other sections as well. This shows that trading the children's section for café might not be a good plan without proper consideration of its direct and indirect consequences.

Finally, did the idea of having a café benefit the Regal Books? The board's recommendation seems to be inspired from the step taken at their rival bookstore and in an attempt to outstrip them in terms of revenues. However, it would be inane to simply follow the other store blindly without actually looking at the effects of the action in their store. If it is found that opening a café did not benefit the Regal Books Store, the ground on which the recommendation is based will lose its merit. Furthermore, even if it worked for them doesn't mean it'll work for Monarch Books as well. As explained before, it might alienate an important section of their consumers. Also, it will be beneficial to know how did the Regal Books store implement the idea. Did they also replace the children's section? If it is indeed the case that the children's section was scrubbed off, it might mean that the Monarch Books has a chance to make more sales in the children's section than before. Therefore, letting go of the children's section might be an even worse idea in this case.

In order to make a complete all-round assessment of the recommendation, the board of directors should answer the above questions. Answering these questions with proper evidence and a cogent line of argument will help the board to come up with a more clear plan to bolster their sales. Even though on surface, the board's argument seems reasonable, a more incisive evaluation shows that it has a few assumptions that if proved unwarranted, will render their recommendation useless, or even detrimental. Hence, before implementing the idea, a more thorough analysis and survey of the situation needs to be done.