The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In his memorandum, the owner of Movies Galore recommends cutting down on the operational expenses at their video rental stores in order to bolster their dwindling revenues. In order to do so, the owner suggests advancing the closing times of the stores by three hours and eliminating all the movies that are older released more than five years ago. To support his argument, the owner cites a similar step that was taken in one of their stores and recommends extending this plan to all the other stores as well. While the owner's suggestion seems reasonable, there are a few key questions that need to be answered in order to make a complete assessment of the plan's viability and effectiveness.

How did making these changes at the store in Downtown Marston affect its profits? The owner only talks about the reduced operational costs, but does not mention the effects on the profits, increasing which was the main goal in the first place. It might have been possible that a majority of customers prefer to go shopping in the soothing evening weather, depending upon the location of course. Also, by not selling the movies that released before five years, the store could be loosing out many of its customers. A lot of people might be fans of the classics who will no longer buy movies from the store. In these cases, even though the plan decreased the operational costs, it might have had a severe effect on the revenues as well, thus failing to increase the profits.

Is raising prices of the movie rentals really not feasible? The owner states that it is their image of offering special bargains which brings in a lot of their customers and assumes that by increasing the prices they will loose a lot of their customers. However, this assumption does not have any evidence. It might be that in an attempt to lure more customers, they might have lowered their prices to an extent that it has caused heavy losses in their sales. If the prices are excessively low, increasing them a little might still have their products reasonably prices and lower than their rivals. In such a case, they will not alienate any of their customers and will be potentially able to make more profits.

Finally, are there any other ways to increase profits? The owner seems to think that the only way going forward is to reduce their operational costs, however there maybe other methods which might even be more conducive in increasing the sales. It might seem counter-intuitive, but an effective way of attracting more customers and increasing their funds might be to make more investments. Yes, in the short term, it will mean that their profits suffer even heavier blows than before. But if these investments result in an increased number of sales, the plan might have an overall positive effect on their profits. For example, maybe they can invest in advertisement which can make more people aware of their stores and the special bargains that they offer. They can also work on the aesthetics and ease of use of their stores in order to make the customers' experience even more satisfactory. These changes can really help them set the store on the right path and might have long-term positive effects.

Therefore, we can say that in its current form, the owner's argument can not be taken at its face value as it has a few unstated assumptions that if proven unwarranted, might make the plan counter-productive. However, collecting more evidence and thinking on the lines of the above questions, might help the store come up with effective plans for improving their profits. Answering the above questions on the basis of proper evidence will help in the proper evaluation of the plan and also anticipate the results of implementing it.