Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The problem statement presents us with two contrasting sides of an argument. The first side is that political leaders should solely make decisions based on popular public opinion and should ignore the principles that they might hold. The other side presented says that an effective leader is the one who can stay committed to a set of objectives and follow them religiously. In my opinion, it is a complicated matter which has no easy answers. I believe that both the arguments have their own merits and demerits which need to be taken into consideration before choosing a side.

In asserting that a political leader need not look any further that popular voice to make decisions and policy, we would be assuming that the majority of the public is always correct. However, if our history has taught us anything, it is that there is nothing more dangerous than a leader who gives in to the voice of its corrupted citizens. We can look at the famous Indo-China war which was fought only because the majority of the Indian population voted in the favor of it, without realizing the aftermath in terms of loss of life as well as economy. This shows that the majority of the population might not be expert in all the matters because of which the leaders sometimes will have to take decisions against the opinion of the public, however in the interest of the public. In these scenarios, it is imperative that the leader seeks educated council rather than heed to popular voice.

The opposers of this argument, might say that an effective leader is the one who can represent the voice of its subject, even if that voice is sometimes wrong. However, to this disposition, I would say that the role of the leader is not only to represent the public but to lead the public on a better path: the path of peace and progress. That is what the American President Abraham Lincolns did so meticulously. His stand against slavery in America did not sit well with the majority of the citizens at that time, however, it was the President's persistence with what he believed was right that resulted in the abolishment of slavery. Even though he had to lose his life for his stand, he was successful in making the lives of future Americans significantly better. Not only in America, but he influenced many future leaders all round the globe. This shows the importance of following a set of principals and not succumbing to the population.

However, it can't be said that a leader should never listen to the voice of the public. After all, that's what distinguishes a democratic leader from a dictator. A true leader should consider what his people want, but the final decision should be his own. In many cases, the leader might learn of the biases in his thinking after interacting with his people, which will allow him to make better decisions. The rulers in ancient Indian Civilizations used to have weekly meetings with the representatives of various factions of the society who would bring their qualms and issues to the table. This would help the king in making a better and a more inclusive policy for his kingdom. Since the policy directly affects the people, their voice and opinion can not be completely ignored which makes such polls and discussions all the more important.

Above examples show that both sides of the argument have their respective pros and cons and an effective leader will operate somewhere in the middle. Being tendentious and only siding with one of the methods will prove detrimental to the progress of the society and the well-being of the population.