To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

More than three fourths of the population of most countries reside in the urban areas. Cities also provide education and employment for majority of the citizens of a society and hence, contribute massively to the GDP. Cities are truly the objects of wonder as they're formed by a congregation of people from various ethnicities and cultural backgrounds. They provide an experience so fulfilling and enthralling that one won't be blamed if one assesses the whole society just based on the study of it's major cities. After all, what do see when you do a Google search of New York? Do you see all the magnificent high rise buildings or do you see the plethora of beautiful parks that surround it? I bet it's the former.

If you want to get an idea of the progress of a country, it is best to look at how it's major cities are doing, since all the major technical advancements and innovations are centered around the cities. However, that is not all that a society comprises of. A society is made by each and every person living in it and that obviously includes those living in the countryside or rustic regions as well. Judging a place only from it's cities is doing a great injustice to it. In my opinion, both the factions of the society complement each other. If the cities provide education and employment, the villages are responsible for a majority of the food growth. If the cities offer a diverse living experience, the towns offer the traditions and practices that lead to the diversity in the first place. Therefore, a complete assessment of a society can be made only by considering both sides of the society.

I had the chance of interning in Hong Kong last year. Being in a technical field myself, I was naturally excited to spend my summers in a place known for its technical advancements and the tech-culture that it offers. Before leaving, I looked at all the famous places that I can visit and most of them were either architectural wonders or extremely tall sky-scrappers or exorbitant shopping malls. However when I got there, I was shocked to see the lush greenery and the undisturbed wildlife. I visited the neighboring islands that had no access to motor vehicles and where they still lived the old traditional life of fishermen. I got to know the mindset of the people living there and appreciated the difference in point of view that they had as compared to those living in the urban areas. I always used to wonder, how could people live without the leisures of internet or cable-TV. However, it was then that I realized that every person has his own notion of peace and those people had it in the austerity of living in the countryside.

My experiences in Hong Kong have made me realize that the towns and villages are as important parts of a society as the cities and to make a complete assessment of the society, the life in countryside should be studied as well.