In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.
Before taking a side, we should first analyse the statement being made and think
how it can shape the eagerness of an individual to make progress and achieve
a remarkable success in the respective field. While some would think it is
not necessary to get motivated by the past success in order to make significant
contribution, most are of the opinion that lot can be attained if there is
curiosity, intelligence, imagination and eagerness along with the past
experience to work for the development of the field. In my view i agree that it
is necessary to have past knowledge of the domain or field in order to contribute in its success.
The chief reason for my view is buttress of knowledge, experience and motivation
from the past success in the field. For example, in space technology there have
been tremendous growth in technology, infrastructures and equipment’s to make
space shuttles, satellites, and unmanned rovers etc. which can be used for
exploration of planets, moons, and space. Advancement in space domain was
possible by leveraging the past experiences, influence and knowledge gained
from the successful and unsuccessful missions that took place in the past.
Because to continuous research and learning from past mistakes man can now think
of reaching planets like mars and even explore outside the solar systems by
sending orbiters which can send valuable information’s that is unknown to human
beings. If there would be ant past knowledge on how solar system works? how
space looks like? and what is outside the solar system? etc. it would have
been impossible to be at the current state. The result is past achievements strongly influence the current
contribution to the field.
Another reason for my view is the evolution of human beings over the past
centuries that is possible due to the past achievements in the field of medical
science, infrastructural development, invention of new technology like internet,
computers, smartphones etc. Medical science has evolved due to the immense
learning from the research and existing knowledge from past in the curing
dangerous diseases. Now we have vaccine for small pox, polio and malaria. However,
it was absent few centuries back. Moreover, growth of technology has happened due
to the invention of the framework/skeleton few decades back on which all out
current technology work. Big machineries have been built by closely studying the
past achievements in order to deal with the current problems. In absence of the
past knowledge and achievements it would have been difficult to contribute
largely in the field or domain of interest.
After weighing both the sides contribution to a field depends
on the past knowledge which can motivate and energize an individual to contribute
significantly to the field of interest. Without an unknown path with no prior knowledge
it is not a piece of cake to contribute with full efficiency as it costs an arm
and a leg to achieve significant goal.