An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author conclude that people of Tagus can get rid of the deficiency of vitamin A by using breed of millet. The line of reasoning is producing millet in large volume to cure people who need vitamin A. Moreover, author state that providing subsidies can encourage farmers to produce more millet in order to meet the demand. Author also suggest that government of Tagus should take all the necessary steps to ensure people have sufficient vitamin A. The assumption is not convincing for various reasons.

Firstly, the author state that new breed of millet seeds cost more and farmers will be given more subsidies to grow millet. However, author does not provide evidences or insights generated out of the data/survey/research. It is possible that due to high cost of the new seed of millet people will avoid using it as it is not pocket friendly. Also, the economic condition of Tagus is not mentioned which stated that an average citizen can buy the new expensive breed of millet. Hence, the author assumption is not convincing.

Secondly, author state that people of Tagus regularly use millet in their food. The support assumption is unwarranted. It is equally reasonable to say that new breed of millet would not be as popular as the other breed in terms of price or taste. It might not be suitable for the poor population of Tagus suffering for vitamin A deficiency.The common breed of the millet can be abundant due to low production cost along with being good in taste. Thus, it is presumptuous to conclude the author's assumption as this need to be supported by strong evidences.

Finally, even if the assumption is true. Author ignores to highlight the steps government of Tagus should take to eradicate the deficiency of vitamin A. Author should provide evidences like awareness campaign, providing cheap medicine etc. to showcase the sincerity.

In conclusion, we can say that the assumption stated need to be supports with concrete evidences. Just by stating that increase in production of millet will cure the problem of deficiency of vitamin A in the people of the Tagus. Moreover, author does not state the measures Tagus government should take to obliterate the deficiency of vitamin A. After providing solid proofs this assumption can be more than an emotional appeal.