"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author conclude that more viewers and advertisement contracts can be attracted by allocating more time to the local and weather news. The author line of reasoning is increase number of complaints by viewers and cancellation of advertisement contracts during late night news. Moreover, author also raises issue related to the content which viewers have raised while watching news. The assumption is not convincing for various reasons.

Firstly, author state that due to less coverage of local and weather news there has been an increased complaints related to content of the news during late night. Author has not provided details related to kind or type of the complaints. It is equally reasonable to say that people might not be concerned by the increased coverage of the national news but they might be unhappy with the content being showcased in late night local news. It might contain adult content or fake news which could have fumed or irritated the viewers. Hence, the author assumption is not very convincing.

Secondly, author says that lot of local advertisement has been cancelled due to redution of time being alloted to local news. The support or evidences are unwarrented. It is equally reasonable to say that businessmen might not have find it profitable as their are very less views for late night news than during daytime when lot of people are infront of their television set. Also, it is possible that business would have being making enough profit despite the advertisements. Thus, it is presumptious to conclude the assumption stated by the author.

Finally, even if the assumption is true. It is possible to say that dip in the viewership might be due to the poor service provided by the television station. Station might be focused on the revenue generation than thinking about the customer satisfaction which could have lead to decrease in the rating. Based of the reason stated above it is difficult to say that increase in time for local and weather news can significantly affect the number of viewers.

In conclusion, author need to provide concrete evidences to proof the assumption that viewership is directly proportional to time coverage of local and weather news. Moreover, author need to provide buttress to the assumption that reduction in the number of advertisement contract is due to the increased time to the national news during late night. Only by providing more support in the form of data, survey reports, customer feedbacks etc. it will be a strong assumption than being just an emotional appeal.