In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement maintains that in order to make a remarkable contribution in any field of endeavour, role of the past achievements within that field is far-reaching. Surely, the former achievements will inspire to induce a change; however, improvisation and thinking something that was never thought before will also bring remarkable contribution. A slew of evidences from various fields—such as science, technology, transportation, entertainment—will substantiate my position.

It is evident that lots of great individuals, who have great effect on the fields of science, are inspired from the pioneering inventions from the past. For instance, lets us take an example of Albert Einstein. All of we know that he dedicated around ten years of his life to one of the greatest scientific discovery: Theory of Relativity. Undoubtedly, Newtonian Classic Mechanical Theory is the foundation for the development of Einstein’s theory of relativity. While Einstein construed Newtonian Classical Theory could reconcile in gravitational field, it could not satisfy in the gravitational field. This premises led to the development of the Theory of Relativity, which is considered as the ground breaking theory in the field of scientific research.

Similarly, it will be unjustified if I do not take the example of genesis of Internet— huge breakthrough for the modern advancement. Initially, idea of the development of the internet came inspiring through ways of communication in the British Army Camp, generally called as ARPANET. It promoted good communication for the military activities, which ultimately led to development of “Internet” which changed the world forever.

Moreover, in today’s fast paced world, improvisations in the models that have been developed previously have played a great part- at social, national and international level. In most of the developed countries, vast majority of the people commute through the train. Had the trains have been not so fast it would have been impossible to travel longer distances and ultimately the most developed countries today could not flourish in short time. Additionally, the aeroplanes developed by the Wright Brother, in fact, do not have engines initially. But with the passage of time and experiences, development of new improvised model eventuated, which affords the passenger’s comfortable, safe and economic travel.

However, creativity and thinking something that was never thought before also plays the important role in any field of endeavour. To exemplify my instance I would like to take the example of aerospace technology. Having only small history of around fifty years, the leapt of aerospace technology in the field of scientific research is very commendable. Who would have thought humans one day would wander to explore the universe? Who would have imagined humans would research for the possibility of life in the other planets? This idea of never thought before would surely benefit everyone. Also, to illustrate, let us take the example of Walt Disney. Walt Disney, who brought the revolution in the entertainment industry, never thought he would portray astounding characters, which humans never imagined; and is loved everyone.

In summary, considering various field of endeavour—science, technology, transportation, entertainment—it is evident that past experiences will always inspire oneself to strive for the betterment with time; on the flip side, thinking out of box and creativity will also bring a significant change in the particular field.