Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The efficacy of the political leader is largely determined by how he/she adheres to his/her principles to bring about the positive change in the nation. The statement maintains that some people believe that, for political leader, so as to become effective they must yield to public opinion by abandoning principle for the sake of compromise and other contends to follow particular principles of the leader as a paramount quality of the leader. I strongly agree with the claim of former one: there are plethora of evidences in the history that support that adhering into one principal leader can bring about great positive changes in the country.

It is evident that in many cases of the history, one who remained committed to particular principles can bring a paradigm shift, which changed the world forever. Moreover, principles to which the leaders are committed prove to be very fruitful for the society. For instance, let us consider the example of Abraham Lincoln. Lincoln, former president of United States, who brought a drastic change by abolishing slavery system, vows to a great positive change brought by the persistent adherence to own moral principles. During his tenure, he remained attached to his fight for equality and freedom for all without discrimination of colour and race. Although strong opposition from southern states, ruthless civil war and subsequent bloodshed tried to intimidate him, his scorn for slavery system and ardor to bring a change did not let him sway in his belief and gut feelings. Had he compromised for the sake of compromise, neither would American’s have achieved freedom from slavery system no would America have thrived as a powerful country the world.

To add, not only adherence to one own principles helps the leader to enhance in the correct path but also assists to get countenance from the public for the clear vision they carry on. To exemplify the above view let us take an example of most influential leaders of the world: Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela. Nelson Mandela focused on throwing out the legacy of apartheid by ending racism, inequality and on improving racial understanding. Despite a wealth of opponents to impede his social campaign, proponents of his ideology for social numbered outnumbered the opponents and finally resulting drastic social change. In addition, considering another political phenomenon Mahatma Gandhi, it is obvious that he adopted non-violence and championed for the Independence. While some ridiculed his approach to fight against despotic British Rule, generous helpings of the people lauded his methodology and coalesce to fight together to bring a social reform, which ultimately resulted as a great revolution.

In the conclusion, remaining bound to his/her principles, political leaders can bring a positive changes that will surely help for the welfare of the nation as a whole; also, their standard and moral set of principal will incline people towards their path and bring a social change together as a whole. The examples of Abraham Lincoln, Nelson Mandela and Mahatma Gandhi clearly substantiate both the views.