The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument states that the company should hire the employees who sleep less than 6 hours in order to business to thrive. The author claims so based on the recent study of 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives, which shows that those executives who recount not to need more than six hours of the sleep helps to flourish their business by increasing profit margin an faster growth. While it is possible that the given premises seem valid, but on examining it seems incomplete; also, assumptions on which author’s argument depends upon may be valid or invalid: the conclusion is dubitable and hence it should be re-examined.

The author argues that the most of the successful executives tend to sleep for less than six hours at night and presumably attributes this data to success of the company. Perhaps the premise and the conclusion drawn may be applicable for some case, but is should be validated before accounting for the large number of cases. For instances, there may be the number of reasons for the executives, who were a part of the study, to sleep for less than ten hours. Probably, some of the executives are likely to work overtime to support their. Probably, some of them may have anxiety problem due to the specific circumstances around his/her family. It is probable that some of them had sleeping disorder problem and are fighting to overcome that. It is also more likely that some of them are not satisfied with the management and services provided to them are not adequate. If so is the case, the conclusion likely to be dubitable and plan may prove fiasco.

The author implies that the only reason for the success of the company is at most six hours of sleep. The company fails to address, however, different facets of the company as a whole contribute to the overall success of the company. Perhaps, some of the major aspects like leadership, co-operation, and sense of competition, management, and services provided etcetera is likely to be the determining factors to serve for the success of the company. For instance, let us consider one of the most likely paramount factor for the prosperity of business: co-operation. Provided that all the employees working in the business firm are only ones, who sleep less than six hours at night, but it is likely that sense of co-operation among individuals in the decision making and smooth functioning of the business firm may be wanting. If this stated circumstance arises, it is more likely to create a dispute among the employees, which ultimately harms the morale of whole business firm. If so, the new proposal is not likely to improve profit margin and faster growth.

Finally, the author assumes that only basic criteria for hiring new employees are to give a recruitment form with only professional criteria: less than 6 hours of sleep a night. Let us assume that the company is the biggest steel structures construction firm in the world and recently their construction site is at Abu Dhabi, where construction work is 12 hours per day and temperature of 45 degree. Engineer’s and supervisor’s working at the particular site may feel this schedule very hectic and may need a sleep of more than 8 hours a day. Also, rather than focusing on sleep hours criteria, it would be better to focus on aspects—such as educational qualification, communicating skills, co-operation—in the hiring candidates, which would surely make a greater impact on success of the company.

In sum, the company has developed an interesting idea that may be worth further explanation, but committing to such a plan immediately would be a rash. There are number of variables that need to be studied before concluding to the plan that is likely to achieve the stated goal without resulting in possibly unintended consequences. It would be prudent for the company to discourse the aspects such as cogent reasons for less hour sleep of the executives, various aspects paramount to the success of the company and hiring regulations other that sleep hour criteria will be very fruitful to the company’s success.