Scandals are useful because they focus on attention on problems in a way that no speakers and reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Are scandals useful in calling attention to our problems more than speakers and reformer do, as statement suggests? I agree that in many cases the scandals serves to throw lights on societal and national level problems, but we should not outweigh the influence of reformers and motivational speakers they have had on solving grave issues of the society. Hence, I would be substantiating my position in subsequent passages.

Scandals, in fact, serve to call our attention to pervasive social and national level problems that we generally are not aware, and are efficacious to lead to social change. For instance, let us take an example of the Watergate Scandal. Initially, it is regarded as one of underhanded campaign tactics. Surprisingly, further investigation led to resignation of contemporary state head: Richard Nixon. Furthermore, this scandal acts a caveat to anyone in public life of the dangers of being too driven by the power to not notice the moral, ethical and legal implication of what you are doing. Clearly, this scandal gave high sign for the public to carefully scrutinize the behaviours of their elected public officials; also, for public officials to maintain their moral and ethical standards while serving for the public.

Similarly, scandals have brought the people to unite together and stand up against the injustice prevailing in the society. To exemplify the stated opinion let us take an example of burgeoning number of sexual violence’s in Nepal. Recently in few years, the numbered of sexual assault cases registered is quiet shocking. Lots of complains from various communities has harboured suspicions about national security among the individuals. Every individual, however, reunited from the local levels to raise their voice against injustice and has brought significant change too. Indeed, scandals have changed the way how people interact with the social problems; moreover, inspired them to unite together and raise their voice against injustice prevailing around society, community and nation.

On the flip side, reformer and motivational speakers have played the part to resolve various social problems. To illustrate, let us take an example of Anuradha Koirala, one of the active reformer currently in Nepal. She along with her team has been involved in providing assist to the victims of the girl trafficking through her reputed organization: Maiti Nepal. To add, Aruna Roy, who is one of the women activist and motivational speaker, has been inspiring lot of individual by fighting for the governmental corruption in India. Also, Malala Yousafzai, has inspired the world by fighting for girl education in Pakistan.

In sum, it is legitimate to concur that the scandals, in national and societal levels, have surely focus every individuals attention on the significant social problems; nonetheless, the reformers around the various parts of the world have actively participated in solving major problems.